Umberto Customer service

Myriam Zobiak

Myriam Zobiak

+49 40 - 480 009 - 61

E-Mail

Eco-efficiency – economic and ecological evaluation

An eco-efficiency analysis (i.e., the combination of cost and environmental perspectives) uncovers the synergies between efficiency and sustainability improvements. Increasing efficiency is just the first step, though. Ultimately, the goal is to achieve both economic and environmental efficiency. In other words, to design process and product innovations so that they support a sustainable economic strategy.

Umberto NXT Universal lets you realize eco-efficiency in your business in a very tangible way. It helps you reach your loss reduction targets and increases your competitive edge so you can take full control of and responsibility for your products.

Highlights of our software for eco-efficiency

Cost and environmental effects within a system

An eco-efficiency analysis is based on a material and energy flow analysis. The resulting flow model supplies the quantitative basis for systematic decision-making. Umberto NXT Universal combines all the functionalities of Umberto NXT LCA and Umberto NXT Efficiency in one application.

Depending on your perspective and goal, you can utilize Umberto NXT Universal to:

  • calculate Carbon Footprints
  • conduct Life Cycle Assessments (LCA's) with integrated cost analysis
  • optimize your production system by generating material and energy flow analyses
  • perform Life Cycle Costing (LCC)

Integration of pre-existing primary data

You‘ve already gathered data for your LCA in Microsoft Excel? Great! – then you‘ve already accomplished the first step.

Our Live Link connection lets you link cell data from Microsoft Excel with your Umberto model. Any data changes within the Excel worksheet, such as production volumes or material use, automatically updates the data within Umberto NXT LCA. We also offer customized options for interfacing with other tools like SAP or other systems.

Feel free to ask us about it!

A factor for success: integrated LCA databases

The software can calculate full-scale Life Cycle Assessments (LCA), making use of the ecoinvent and GaBi databases to supply the background data. This choice of databases means you'll always have the most suitable data at your fingertips.

More about the ecoinvent database
More about GaBi databases

Are you looking for an initial and quick estimate of the environmental impacts? With a "screening LCA" you can minimizes the required effort, complexity, and data collection. It only takes the main materials used in a product into consideration and Global Warming Potential (GWP) values are used for the calculation. The so called “ecological rucksack” of the material already incorporates upstream and downstream chains using global averages. This allows a quick overview and helps to identify hot spots that should be investigated in more detail.

Solid decisions through quantification

In Umberto NXT Universal you start with a detailed look at the present state by identifying the system's hot spots and recognizing potential risks. You can then derive options and strategies for the improvements needed to attain your goals. Is it reducing costs or CO2 emissions, or perhaps both? Umberto lets you identify the ideal mix of actions to best achieve your targets.

The software lets you run through various scenarios in terms of technological, legal, market, price, and demand development in relation to costs and environmental criteria. This capability allows you to achieve greater planning security and systematically effective decisions.

Sankey diagrams foster innovation

Innovation grows out of dialogs that go beyond the constraints of departments or sometimes even whole businesses. But to bring about change, you first have to convince all the involved parties, whether its colleagues or supervisors. The graphic Umberto models can easily present and communicate all relevant parameters and interrelationships. So everyone is on the same page when it comes to a comprehensive systems understanding.

Tip: Of course, you can easily export all results to Microsoft Excel or create a print-ready image file.

Download product brochure

Try our software for eco-efficiency

Just download your free trial version of our Umberto NXT Universal Software. You can test it for 14 days and start with a first analysis of your eco-efficiency.

Calculate LCAs and investigate your costs

Further features of our eco-efficiency software at a glance

What are my options when using Umberto NXT Universal modeling?

  • Life cycle phases as graphic elements, adjustable in number and name
  • Linear and non-linear process specifications
  • Process specifications with user-defined functions allow the creation of realistic models by integrating technical knowledge of the processes
  • Freely defined parameters
  • Hierarchical modeling structure
  • Copy & paste and undo & redo functions are both fully available
  • Save partial models in the module gallery for later reuse
  • Integrate inventories and inventory changes
  • Export and Import of Linear Specifications as Excel file in the form of an aggregated input/output table
  • processes programmatically using the Python programming language (e.g. scripting)

 

What kind of reports can i generate to display analysis and results?

  • Mass and energy balances for the entire system as well as custom-defined sub-systems
  • Analysis based on processes, products, flows, and on variable thresholds
  • Display cost analysis in tables or graphs
  • Export to Excel of all analyses, LCIAs, and costs results
  • Sankey diagrams of total costs, cost of individual products, or of product unit costs
  • Sankey diagram graphics export is quick and easy when using the clipboard
  • If you are missing a specific report type, the Umberto Customizing Team will be happy to assist you in implementing it

 

 

Which methods for Life Cycle Impact Assessment (LCIA) can I choose?

  • ReCiPe, Impact 2002+, Eco-Indicator 99, CML, TRACI, IPCC and many other impact assessment methods are integrated
  • User defined impact assessment methods can be created
  • Individual KPIs of different indicator systems can be freely combined

What are my options when using cost calculation?

  • Individual materials cost
  • Process costs
  • Free definition of cost types and cost plans
  • Assign fixed and variable costs to each cost factor
  • Unit cost accounting

 

 

Free Umberto web presentation

Free Umberto web presentation

We offer free web presentations for an quick and easy introduction to Umberto. Here you can find the upcoming dates.


Umberto software trainings

Umberto software trainings

We would like to give you the best start for working with Umberto. That is why regular software trainings take place, where the software is explained in depth. Here you can find an overview of the next dates.

Umberto user Jörg Nispel says:

Umberto user Jörg Nispel says:

„It is my task to systematically and scientifically analyze material cycles,  identify optimization potential, and present the results to  our corporate clients.  Umberto helps me with all these tasks. I benefit from the flexibility of the software and its features every day.“

Dr. Jörg Nispel, The Fraunhofer Institute for Silicate Research, Germany

Everything starts with good advice

Everything starts with good advice

Personal contact, open communication channels, and dependable service: that's how we like to work with you. Our goal is to support your project based on the priorities you've set to reach the best possible outcome – together.


ifu Expert News

Monthly whitepaper, best practice examples etc. on sustainable production

Umberto NXT Universal- Software for increasing the eco-efficiency

What is an eco-efficiency analysis?

Eco-efficiency is based on the concept of creating more goods and services while using fewer resources and creating less waste and pollution, i.e having less impact on earth's ecosystems. The steps needed to generate an eco-efficiency analysis are described in DIN ISO 14045. Generally, it measures the environmental impacts a product has in relation to its environmental benefits, primarily on a monetary basis. The environmental impacts are calculated with the help of an LCA. Eco-efficiency analyses can play a vital role in, for example, choosing between different product alternatives or in achieving integrated optimization for an entire business.

A typical eco-efficiency analysis starts with modeling the current state within what is called a foreground system. This could be, for example, the process of manufacturing a specific product. The Umberto software then links all emissions and direct resource use in the model to specific environmental impacts. By integrating secondary eco-efficiency data from databases such as ecoinvent or GaBi the process also allows users to measure the environmental impact of upstream chains – that is, all the inputs and outputs of a product prior to its actual production. In addition, the software is able to integrate and analyze market prices for materials used in the process as well as variable and fixed processing costs. Using parameter variations or alternative processes, different planning scenarios can be modeled to determine the subsequent change in ecological efficiency compared to the current state. An eco-efficiency analysis can also compare completely different products or production systems in terms of their respective ecological efficiencies.

Software for analyzing your eco-efficiency

Umberto NXT Universal combines the functions of both Umberto NXT LCA and NXT Efficiency by evaluating the environmental efficiency of product and process systems as well as by generating material-flow based cost analyses. This allows a business to identify product and production systems that benefit the environment while at the same time improving its competitiveness through cost control. The ultimate goal is to optimize overall ecological (and, therefore, economic) efficiency.


In addition to compiling eco-efficency analyses, Umberto NXT Universal is the only software within the Umberto NXT family that offers an option to specify processes by means of scripting in IronPython. This feature enables users to, for example, calculate and isolate allocation factors and process parameters, or to exchange information with other software programs. The result is virtually limitless modeling capacity.
By combining ecological and economic aspects through an eco-efficiency analysis, Umberto NXT Universal is the most flexible and comprehensive of all systems to support your goal of reaching more sustainable production. It allows for complete product responsibility while increasing competitiveness through cost control. At the same time, it saves resources and reduces emissions in order to sustain our ecology's overall functionality.

Umberto Kundenberatung

Johann Peters

Johann Peters

49-40-480009-17

E-Mail

Ökoeffizienz - Nachhaltigkeit und Produktivität vereint

Eine Analyse der Ökoeffizienz (also die Kombination aus Kosten- und Umweltperspektive) macht Synergien zwischen Effizienz- und Nachhaltigkeitsmaßnahmen sichtbar. Effizienzsteigerung ist aber nur der erste Schritt. Letztlich geht es darum, ökonomische und ökologische Effektivität zu erreichen. Das heißt, Prozess und Produktinnovation so zu gestalten, dass sie einer nachhaltigen Wirtschaftsweise entsprechen. Mit Umberto NXT Universal setzen Sie Ökoeffizienz im Betrieb konkret um.

Highlights der Ökoeffizienzsoftware

Kosten und Umweltwirkung in einem System

Grundlage für die Analyse der Ökoeffizienz ist eine Stoffstromanalyse. Das Material- und Energieflussmodell liefert die quantitative Basis für systematische Entscheidungen. Umberto NXT Universal vereint die Funktionalität von Umberto NXT LCA und Umberto NXT Efficiency.

Je nach Fragestellung und Zielsetzung können Sie Umberto NXT Universal nutzen für:

  • Berechnung von Carbon Footprints
  • Ökobilanzierung (LCA) mit integrierter Kostenbetrachtung
  • Produktionsoptimierung basierend auf Stoff- und Energieflussanalysen
  • Life Cycle Costing

Integration von vorhandenen Primärdaten

Sie haben bereits Daten für Ihre Analysen in Microsoft Excel gesammelt? Wunderbar, damit haben Sie die Basis schon einmal geschaffen.

Über unseren Live Link können Sie Zellwerte aus Microsoft Excel mit Ihrem erstellten Umberto Modell verknüpfen. Ändern sich z.B. Stückzahlen, Materialverbrauch in der Excel Arbeitsmappe werden die Daten automatisch in Umberto NXT Universal aktualisiert. Des Weiteren bieten wir auch die Möglichkeit einer individuellen Schnittstellen-Anbindung mit SAP oder anderen Systemen.

Sprechen Sie uns dazu gern an!

Testen Sie Umberto NXT Universal jetzt kostenlos

Laden Sie sich Ihre Testversion von Umberto NXT Universal herunter. Sie können die Software für einen Zeitraum von 14 Tagen kostenlos testen und bereits mit einer ersten Analyse Ihrer Material-, Energie- und Kosteneffizienz beginnen. 

Erfolgsfaktor: Integrierte Ökobilanz-Datenbanken

Zur Erstellung einer vollumfassenden Ökobilanz können als Hintergrunddaten ecoinvent und alle GaBi Ökobilanz-Datenbanken genutzt werden können. Mit dieser Auswahl an Datenbanken stehen Ihnen immer die geeigneten Daten in Umberto NXT Universal zur Verfügung.

Mehr zur ecoinvent-Datenbank
Mehr zu den GaBi-Datenbanken

Sie möchten im ersten Schritt eine grobe Abschätzung vornehmen? Mit einer „Screening LCA“ verringern sie den Aufwand, die Komplexität und die Datenerhebung.
Durch die Nutzung von ökologischen Rucksackdaten werden nur die Hauptmaterialien des Produktes betrachtet. Der „ökologische Rucksack“ aus den Vor-und Nachketten ist hier bereits mit globalen Durchschnittswerten berücksichtigt. Somit erhalten Sie einen schnellen Überblick, wo die Hot Spots liegen, welche genauer betrachtet werden sollten.

Sichere Entscheidung durch Quantifizierung

In Umberto NXT Universal starten Sie mit der Analyse der Ist-Situation. Damit identifizieren Sie die Hotspots im System und erkennen mögliche Risiken. Daraus können Sie Verbesserungsmaßnahmen und Handlungsoptionen ableiten, um Ihre Ziele zu erreichen. Sollen die Kosten gesenkt werden, die CO2-Bilanz verbessert werden oder beides? Mit Umberto können Sie den besten Maßnahmenmix zur Zielerreichung identifizieren.

Das Durchspielen der unterschiedlichen Szenarien hinsichtlich Technologie-, Gesetzes-, Markt-, Preis- und Nachfrageentwicklung in Bezug auf Kosten und Umweltkriterien erhöht Ihre Planungssicherheit durch systematische Entscheidungen.

Sankey-Diagramme schaffen Innovation

Innovationen entstehen aus dem Dialog über Abteilungs- und machmal auch Unternehmensgrenzen hinweg. Für Veränderungen muss bei Kollegen und Vorgesetzten gleichermaßen Überzeugungsarbeit geleistet werden. Mit dem visuellen Umberto-Modell lassen sich alle Einflussgrößen und Zusammenhänge darstellen und kommunizieren. So entsteht bei allen Beteiligten ein gemeinsames Systemverständnis.

Tipp: Alle Ergebnisse können Sie natürlich auch bequem nach Microsoft Excel exportieren oder eine druckfertige Bilddatei erstellen.

Download Produktbroschüre

Ökobilanzen erstellen und Kosten betrachten

Anwendung: Einsatz in der Abfallwirtschaft

Anwendung: Einsatz in der Abfallwirtschaft

Der Grüne Punkt (Duales System Deutschland) setzt zur jährlichen Erstellung der ökologischen Gesamtschau Umberto ein. Neben der Analyse des komplexen Stoffstromsystems macht die Software auch ökologische und ökonomische Analysen zugänglicher.

„Systematische Stoffkreisläufe und resultierende Optimierungspotenziale wissenschaftlich bewerten sowie unternehmensspezifisch darzustellen, ist meine Aufgabe. Genau diese Optionen realisiert Umberto! Die umfangreichen Möglichkeiten dieser Software begeistern unsere Auftraggeber und mich täglich.“

Dr. Jörg Nispel, Fraunhofer-Institut für Silicatforschung ISC, Alzenau

Gute Beratung ist der Anfang von allem

Gute Beratung ist der Anfang von allem

Kurze Wege, persönlicher Kontakt und Verlässlichkeit – so sehen wir partnerschaftliche Zusammenarbeit. Unser Ziel ist es, Sie, entsprechend Ihrer gesetzten Prioritäten, bei der erfolgreichen Umsetzung Ihres Projektes zu unterstützen.

Umberto Software Schulungen im Überblick

Umberto Software Schulungen im Überblick

Wir möchten Ihnen den optimalen Einstieg in Umberto ermöglichen. Deshalb finden regelmäßige Softwareschulungen statt, welche tiefer gehendes Wissen vermitteln. Sie können sich sogar aussuchen, ob es eine öffentliche Schulung in Hamburg, eine Inhouse-oder Webschulung werden soll.

Weitere Funktionen der Ökoeffizienz-Software im Überblick

Welche Möglichkeiten bietet mir die Modellierung?

  • Lebenszyklusphasen als grafisches Element, Anzahl und Benennung anpassbar
  • lineare und nicht-lineare Prozessspezifikationen
  • Prozessspezifikationen über User Defined Functions ermöglichen realitätsnahe Modelle durch Integration verfahrenstechnischen Prozesswissens
  • frei definierbare Parameter
  • hierarchische Modellstruktur
  • Copy & Paste und Undo & Redo wird voll unterstützt
  • Teilmodelle in der Module Gallery speichern und einfach wiederverwenden
  • Berücksichtigung von Beständen und Bestandsveränderungen
  • Spezifizieren von Prozessen durch die Nutzung von Programmierung mit Python (Scripting)
  • Export und Import von linearen Spezifikationen als Exceldatei in Form einer aggregierten Input/Output-Tabelle

Welche Auswertungen kann ich vornehmen?

  • Masse- und Energiebilanzen für das Gesamtsystem und für beliebig wählbare Teilsysteme
  • Auswertung nach Prozessen, nach Produkten, nach Flüssen, nach variablen Bilanzgrenzen
  • tabellarische und grafische Kostendarstellung und -auswertung
  • Excelexport aller Sachbilanz-, aller LCIA- und aller Kostenergebnisse
  • Sankey-Diagramme der Gesamtkosten, einzelner Produkte oder der Produkteinzelkosten
  • Grafikexport der Sankey-Diagramme schnell und einfach auch über die Zwischenablage
  • ist ein gewünschter Report nicht dabei, übernimmt das Umberto Customizing Team gerne die Umsetzung

Welche Wirkungsabschätzungsmethoden kann ich wählen?

  • Recipe, Impact 2002+, Eco-Indicator 99, CML, TRACI, IPCC und viele weitere Bewertungsmethoden sind integriert
  • eigene Bewertungsfaktoren können anlegt werden
  • die einzelnen Wirkungsindikatoren aller Kennzahlensysteme können frei kombiniert werden

Welche Möglichkeiten bietet mir die Kostenrechnung?

  • vollwertiges Management Cost Accounting mit Materialeinzelkosten und Prozesskosten (variabel und fix)
  • freie Definition von Kostenarten
  • Definition fixer und variabler Kostenanteile in den Kostenstellen (Prozessen)
  • Ergebnisdarstellung und Auswertung je Kostenstelle
  • Kostenträgerrechnung

ifu Expert News

Monatlich Whitepaper, Best Practice Beispiele u.v.m. zu nachhaltiger Produktion

Umberto NXT Universal- Die Software zur Steigerung der Ökoeffizienz

Was ist eine Ökoeffizienzanalyse?

Die Ökoeffizienz (englisch: eco-efficiency) bringt Ökonomie und Ökologie miteinander in Einklang. Das Vorgehen zur Erstellung einer Ökoeffizienzanalyse wird durch die Norm DIN ISO 14045 beschrieben. Die Grundidee ist es, die Umweltauswirkungen in Beziehung zu setzen zum Nutzen, der meist monetär ausgedrückt wird. Die Umweltauswirkungen werden mittels einer Ökobilanz (LCA) berechnet. Ökoeffizienzanalysen können bspw. bei der Entscheidung zwischen Produktalternativen unterstützen oder zu einer ganzheitlichen Optimierung beitragen.

Bei einer typischen Ökoeffizienzanalyse wird zunächst der Istzustand in dem sogenannten Vordergrundsystem modelliert. Dies kann beispielsweise der Prozess eines Unternehmens zur Herstellung eins spezifischen Produktes sein. Alle modellierten Emissionen und direkten Verbräuche von Ressourcen können Umweltwirkungen im Umberto zugeordnet werden. Durch die Anbindung von Sekundärdaten aus den Ökobilanzdatenbanken ecoinvent oder GaBi lassen sich zusätzlich die Vorketten, also alles das, was bei dem Unternehmen nicht vor Ort stattfindet, ökologisch bewerten. Zusätzlich zur Anbindung der Datenbanken können Marktpreise der beschafften Materialien und entstehende variable und fixe Prozesskosten eingepflegt und analysiert werden. Ausgehend von dem Ist-Zustand können mit Hilfe von Parametervariation oder alternativen Prozessen Planungsszenarien erstellt und die jeweilige Veränderung der Ökoeffizienz im Vergleich zum Ist-Zustand bestimmt werden. Selbstverständlich können auch komplett unterschiedliche Produkt- und Produktionssystemen in Ihrer Ökoeffizienz verglichen werden.

Software für die Analyse Ihrer Ökoeffizienz

Umberto NXT Universal vereint die Funktionalitäten von Umberto NXT LCA und NXT Efficiency: Ökobilanzielle Bewertung von Produkt- und Produktionssystemen sowie materiaflussbasierte Kostenanalysen. Es lassen sich damit Produkt- und Produktionssysteme so gestalten, dass sie ökologisch vorteilhaft sind und gleichzeitig die Wettbewerbsfähigkeit durch Kosteneinsparungen steigern. Die Ökoeffizienz lässt sich mit den Umberto-Lösungen ermitteln und verbessern.
Umberto-Anwender schaffen Produkte und Produktionssysteme, mit denen die Umwelt und das Unternehmen gewinnt.
Neben der Ökoeffizienzanalyse bietet Umberto NXT Universal als einziges Softwareprodukt der Umberto NXT Produktfamilie die Möglichkeit, Prozesse mit Hilfe von Scripting in Iron Python zu spezifizieren. Damit lassen sich beispielsweise Allokationsfaktoren oder Prozessparameter aus einem Prozess heraus errechnen oder Informationen mit anderen Softwareprogrammen austauschen. Der Modellierung sind damit keine Grenzen mehr gesetzt.
Die Kombination aus ökologischer und ökonomischer Analyse – Ökoeffizienzanalyse – macht Umberto NXT Universal zu dem flexibelsten und umfangreichsten System zur Unterstützung Ihrer Zielerreichung im Sinne einer nachhaltigen Produktion: Vollständige Produktverantwortung durch Kontrolle der Kosten zur Erhaltung der Wettbewerbsfähigkeit bei gleichzeitiger Schonung von Ressourcen bzw. Verminderung von Emissionen zum Erhalt der Funktionsfähigkeit der Ökologie.