Software and consulting services for more sustainable production

IFU Stoffstrom

Our goal is to help businesses achieve more efficient use of resources and thus develop environmentally friendlier products. Based on our 20 years of expertise, we're offering consulting and software solutions for:

  • Ecological balance / life cycle assessment
  • Resource productivity / energy efficiency
  • Carbon footprints / CO2 balances
  • Sustainable value-add chains/ process optimization



Sharpen your competitive edge with circular economy

The challenge of a circular economy has many facets ranging from business models based on waste-reduction and using recycled and recyclable materials. to designing new products and processes that are waste-free and environmentally compatible from the get-go.  This circular economy challenge is exactly what we've been focusing on for more than 20 years. Our expertise and cross-sectoral know-how have fueled the development of our standard software tools, Umberto NXT and e!Sankey. Why not also profit
from our long and successful experience?

Welcome to our new website

Welcome to our new website

Launch day- today is the day. We are proud to announce, that the website which you are just seeing went online today on June, 22th. This means that you are one of the first visitors of our brand-new website. We would like to give you a warm welcome and wish you a lot of fun while surfing on the new site. Happy surfing wishes the team of ifu Hamburg (Institute for Environmental IT).

New data for Carbon footprints and Life Cycle Assessment

New data for Carbon footprints and Life Cycle Assessment

Just recently, we integrated the latest ecoinvent data in our software Umberto. It is now possible to calculate carbon footprints with the most up-to-date ecoinvent 3.2 GWP data → learn more. LCA practitioners have the opportunity to do screening LCA’s for the first time due to ecological rucksacks → learn more.

Productivity meets Sustainability

Ifu Hambug - material flows and software

Ifu Hambug - material flows and software

Our consulting services are customized to meet the individual needs of our clients. They focus on real world applications and measures that can actually be realized. Our customized solutions are based on a detailed analysis of your present situation and we'll tailor our deliverables to suit your needs and budget. Among our services:

  • Integrated project implementation guided by our team
  • Grow your in-house know-how with individual support at your place of business or with formal training sessions
  • Data research and modeling support
  • An introductory sustainability workshop
More about consulting services
Umberto

Umberto

Industrial businesses, consultants, and scientists all over the world use Umberto for material flow management and analysis. Only when you know your business' material and energy flows can you unlock the full potential to optimize products and production processes.

The tools of the Umberto NXT product family help you to:

  • reduce your carbon footprint
  • use LCAs to calculate your environmental impacts
  • increase your resource and energy efficiency
  • decrease your environmental impact, benefiting both the environment and your budget
More about Umberto
e!Sankey

e!Sankey

Whether you wish to visualize energy flows or material streams. Our software e!Sankey lets you create appealing Sankey diagrams that show the flows in an easy-to-understand way. Ideal for:

  • energy management
  • facility management
  • manufacturing
  • logistics
More about e!Sankey
ifu support hotline:

ifu support hotline:

+49 40 - 480 009 90

Is your business aiming for a more sustainable production? Congratulations - you've taken the first step! We will be more than happy to assist you.

Request a return call

ifu Expert News

Monthly whitepaper, best practice examples etc. on sustainable production

Practical implementation of circular economy with ifu Hamburg

What is circular economy?

The circular economy concept is focused on reducing resource consumption. In some contexts, this term is limited to the field of waste management, often focusing on recycling quotas, material recyclability, and waste reduction, especially packaging. We like to look at circular economy in a much broader context, though. What we see is an economic system that can function without any waste or residual materials. All materials leaving a production process will either be recyclable and used again in the same process, or serve as a valuable resource in a different process.

Realizing circular economy at the industrial level

We support the vision of a circular economy but are aware of the difficulties that businesses are confronted with when trying to transform their operations. We would like to support businesses in their efforts to integrate a circular economy perspective into all their innovative processes. Part of the process is to create a systematic basis for mid- and long-term planning. Achieving a genuine circular economy across all industries and production systems simultaneously won't be feasible, but it is entirely possible to start improving efficiency within a particular production system step-by-step. This is, of course, still a big challenge, one that begins with a comprehensive understanding of all the material and energy flows involved – not just the waste products. If you'd like to be a leader in implementing these first steps in your business, we're here to support you with our consulting services and software solutions.

Mit Beratung und Software zu einer nachhaltigen Produktion

IFU Stoffstrom

Ihr Ziel ist es, Ressourcen effizient einzusetzen und umweltschonende Produkte zu entwickeln. Unser Ziel ist es, Sie dabei zu unterstützen. So machen wir nachhaltige Produktion erreichbar für jedes Unternehmen. Auf Basis unserer 20-jährigen Expertise bieten wir Beratung und Softwarelösungen zu den folgenden Themen an: 

  • Ressourceneffizienz / Energieeffizienz
  • Carbon Footprinting / CO2-Bilanzierung
  • Ökobilanzierung / Life Cycle Assessment
  • Nachhaltige Wertschöpfungsketten / Prozessoptimierung

Sie möchten mehr erfahren, vereinbaren Sie einfach ein Telefonat mit uns.

Rückruf vereinbaren

Wettbewerbsvorteile durch Circular Economy

Sich den Herausforderungen der Circular Economy stellen, das beinhaltet ein Business Modell, in dem Abfälle vermieden und kreislauffähige Materialien eingesetzt werden. Neue Produkte und Prozesse werden schon in der Entwicklung so gestaltet, dass diese abfall- und schadstofffrei sind. Das ist unsere Expertise seit mehr als 20 Jahren. Aus diesem Wissen und dem branchenübergreifenden Know-how entstanden unsere Standard-Softwaretools Umberto und e!Sankey. Profitieren Sie davon.

Jetzt neu: Das Umberto Campus-Paket

Jetzt neu: Das Umberto Campus-Paket

Hochschulen können bis zum 30.11. mit dem Umberto Campus-Paket i. D. 50 % sparen. In diesem Zeitraum gibt es eine Umberto NXT Software inkl. GWP Daten, 30 Educational Lizenzen, 3 Jahre Servicevertrag und ein Dozenten-Training schon für 199 € im Monat zzgl. USt. Mehr Informationen zu diesem Angebot für Hochschulen finden Sie → hier.

Software-Pakete exklusiv für Berater

Software-Pakete exklusiv für Berater

Seit über 20 Jahren ist die Software Umberto bereits bei Nachhaltigkeits-, Energieberatern und Ingenieurbüros im Einsatz. Als Dankeschön bieten wir nun erstmals Software-Pakete exklusiv für Berater an. Diese vergünstigten Berater-Pakete sind bis zum 16. Dezember 2016 verfügbar → Mehr Informationen

Produktivität trifft Nachhaltigkeit

ifu Hamburg

ifu Hamburg

Unsere Beratung ist auf die speziellen Anforderungen jedes Kunden abgestimmt. Wir arbeiten praxisorientiert und konzentrieren uns auf realisierbare Maßnahmen. Unsere maßgeschneiderten Lösungen basieren immer auf einer genauen Analyse der aktuellen Situation und unser Beratungsumfang passt sich Ihren Zielen an. Wir bieten u.a.:

  • ganzheitliche Projektumsetzung durch unser Team
  • Aufbau des Inhouse Know-hows durch Projektbegleitung vor Ort oder Schulungen
  • Unterstützung bei Datenrecherche und Aufbau eines Softwaremodells
  • Nachhaltigkeitsworkshop als Einstieg
Mehr zu Beratung
Umberto

Umberto

Industrieunternehmen, Berater und Wissenschaftler weltweit nutzen die Software Umberto, um Stoffstromanalysen durchzuführen. Denn erst die Kenntnis über die eigenen Material- und Energieflüsse gibt Aufschluss über Optimierungspotenziale für Produkte und Produktionsprozesse.

Die Tools der Umberto NXT Produktfamilie unterstützen Sie:

  • Ihren Carbon Footprint zu reduzieren
  • Ihre Umweltwirkungen durch eine Ökobilanz zu berechnen
  • Ihre Material- und Energieeffizienz zu verbessern
  • Ihre Ökoeffizienz zu verbessern und somit Umwelt und Budget zu schonen
Mehr zu Umberto
e!Sankey

e!Sankey

Wer Überblick über Stoff- oder Enegieflüsse haben will, braucht anschauliche Visualisierungen. Erstellen Sie mit der Software e!Sankey ansprechende Sankey-Diagramme mit mengen-proportional breiten Pfeilen für Flüsse. Ideal u.a. für:

  • Energiemanagement
  • Facility Management
  • Produktion
  • Logistik
Mehr zu e!Sankey
ifu Support Hotline:

ifu Support Hotline:

+49 40 - 480 009 90

Ihr Unternehmen hat sich eine nachhaltige Produktion zum Ziel gesetzt?
Dann haben Sie den ersten Schritt gemacht! Wir begleiten Sie gern.

Kontaktanfrage

ifu Expert News

Monatlich Whitepaper, Best Practice Beispiele u.v.m. zu nachhaltiger Produktion

Den Circular-Economy-Gedanken praxisnah umsetzen mit ifu Hamburg

Was ist Circular Economy?

Im Deutschen wird Circular Economy oft mit „Kreislaufwirtschaft“ übersetzt. Der Begriff Kreislaufwirtschaft kommt aus dem Kontext der Entsorgungswirtschaft. Das heißt, dort stehen Verwertungsquoten, Recyclingfähigkeit und Abfallreduzierung von z.B. Bauabfällen im Fokus. Unser Verständnis von Circular Economy ist jedoch weiter gefasst. Es ist die Vision einer Wirtschaftsweise, die es versteht, komplett ohne Abfälle und Reststoffe zu wirtschaften. Materialien, die einen Produktionsprozess verlassen, sollen entweder kreislauffähig sein und genau so wieder eingesetzt werden, oder in einem anderen Prozess als wertvoller Rohstoff nutzbar sein. 

Circular Economy auf Unternehmensebene umsetzen

Wir unterstützen die Circular-Economy-Vision, wissen aber auch um die Schwierigkeiten, mit denen Unternehmen bei der Umsetzung konfrontiert sind. Wir möchten Unternehmen dabei zur Seite stehen, den Circular-Economy-Gedanken in allen Innovationsprozessen zu berücksichtigen. Somit soll ebenfalls die systematische Basis für mittel- und langfristige Planungen geschaffen werden. Nicht in allen Branchen und Produktionssystemen ist der Circular-Economy-Gedanke gleich schnell und umfassend umzusetzen, sondern kann auch mit der schrittweisen Verbesserung der Effizienz des Produktionssystems beginnen. Das ist natürlich eine Herausforderung und beginnt mit dem grundsätzlichen Verständnis aller Materialflüsse und Energieflüsse und nicht nur der Abfälle. Sie wollen dies auch in Ihrem Unternehmen umsetzen? Dann unterstützen wir Sie gerne mit kompetenter Beratung oder passgenauen Softwarelösungen.